Guides Home: Marketing: Home

Start here

Search the library's print and online resources to find books, ebooks, articles, recordings and more.

Here is a short guide to help you get started: Multisearch: A Quick Overview

The library catalogue lists physical items and ebooks purchased by the library.

Use Multisearch to search the library catalogue and online collections at the same time.

Google Scholar can be a useful search tool when starting your research, but it should not be the only tool you use. However, while you know you can rely on MTU library resources, it is up to you to make sure content you find on Google Scholar is safe to use for your assignments and research.

Did you know you can link Google Scholar to MTU Kerry library so it always tells you when the full text of an article is available in the library?

Here is our Link MTU Kerry Library to Google Scholar guide.

Use the A-Z of Online Journals to find a specific journal or journals on a specific subject.

Searching the library's online resources is a bit different to searching Google. Here are some tips to get you started:

List keywords for each of the main concepts or ideas in your research question
What is the impact of global warming on Adelie penguins on the Antartic continent
Enter keywords not sentences into the search box
Join keywords using AND
- global warming AND penguins
Use OR between words with similar meanings and put OR'd words in brackets
- Adelie penguins AND (global warming OR climate change)
Use quotation marks to look for phrases
- Adelie penguings AND "global warming"
Try searching with different combinations of keywords and see what works best.
Use your search results to find new keywords

Things to think about when making your list of keywords

Synonyms (words that mean the same thing)
- drug abuse, drug addction or substance abuse
Acronyms (abbreviations)
- GP or General Practitioner, HSE or Health and Safety Executive
Specialist language
- narcotics vs drugs
Word endings
- addict* will find addict, addicts, addicted, addiction, but child will not find children.
Phrases (looks for words together and in order)
- "controlled substance"
UK vs American Spelling
- colour vs color, analyse vs analyze, centre vs centre

For more search help, check out out the Effective Searching Module of the Assignment Toolkit. and our Top Tips for Smarter Searching guide for more search hints

Information Sources for Marketing

Use Multisearch to find books and ebooks. Here is a selection of print and electronic books available through the library.

The Disappearing Product by Chris Bilton 'Chris Bilton pursues a critical issue for everyone in arts and entertainment. The giants of the internet age have disintermediated IP owners. How can creators of content reclaim their relationship with their audiences?' - Peter Bazalgette, Chair of ITV and previously Chair of Arts Council England 2012-2016 The Disappearing Productcombines analysis of developments in the creative economy with practical guidance for marketing in the creative industries. Using theoretical models and extensive practical examples, this book challenges cultural producers to reclaim their place in the creative economy. Marketing is situated in the context of social, cultural and technological change that has revolutionised the creative and media industries. Traditional broadcasters, publishers and record labels have been displaced by a new generation of intermediaries including Amazon, Apple, Facebook and Google. These new intermediaries are marginalising cultural producers, devaluing products and monopolising consumer attention. Bilton's analysis focuses on how the creative industries must respond to these structural changes with new, innovative marketing methods for cultural products. Key features include: a defined approach to marketing geared towards the cultural and creative industries, distinguished from `business as usual' and `arts marketing' case studies and questions for discussion that can be used in the classroom analysis of the creative economy highlighting practical strategies for marketers and managers key examples of recent innovative marketing by artists and cultural entrepreneurs. An essential guide for students of creative industries, marketing and management, this book allows readers to develop their own tailored approach to marketing. Cultural entrepreneurs, marketers and managers will benefit from the in-depth insight into new patterns of consumption, transformed markets and emerging business models.
Call Number: 338.47700688
ISBN: 9781785360749
Publication Date: 2017-09-29
Principles of marketing by Philip Kotler, Gary Armstrong, Lloyd C. Harris and Hongwei He. Principles of Marketing, 8th European Edition, by Kotler et al. admirably covers a wide range of theoretical concepts and practical issues and accurately reflects the fast-moving pace of marketing in the modern world - examining traditional aspects of marketing and blending them with modern and future concepts. The authors of this European Edition present fundamental marketing information within an innovative customer-value framework, to help you understand how to create value and build customer relationships.
Call Number: 658.8
ISBN: 9781292269566
Publication Date: 2020
Your Ad Ignored Here by Tom Fishburne (Illustrator); Ann Handley (Foreword by) From the birth of social media to digital advertising to personal branding, marketing has transformed in the past 15 years. Capturing these quintessential moments in marketing is Marketoonist, a popular cartoon series from veteran marketer Tom Fishburne. Your Ad Ignored Here collects nearly 200 of these hilarious and apt depictions of marketing marketing life on the 15th anniversary of the series.Fishburne began to doodle his observations in 2002 when working in the trenches of marketing. Initially intended for co-workers, they are now read by hundreds of thousands of marketers every week. The cartoons' popularity stem not only from their deft reflections on latest trends, but their witty summary of the shared experiences of marketing ¿ handling a PR crisis, giving creative feedback to an agency, or avoiding idea killers in innovation.Your Ad Ignored Here gives voice to the challenges and opportunities faced by people working in business everywhere. Readers regularly inquire if Fishburne is spying on them at work. Whether or not you work in marketing, these cartoons will make you laugh - and think about our rapidly evolving world of work.
Call Number: 741.5973
ISBN: 9780999070314
Publication Date: 2017-10-24
International Marketing Strategy by Isobel Doole; Robin Lowe This text looks at context, techniques and strategies involved in successful international marketing. It sets out to provide a good balance of the theory and implementation behind international marketing.
Call Number: 658.84
ISBN: 9781844807635
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Essentials of Marketing Communications by Jim Blythe This text will provide students with a concise overview of the techniques, supporting theories and strategic and tactical decision-making processes involved in marketing communications.
Call Number: 658.802
ISBN: 9780273702054
Publication Date: 2006-05-22

Use Multisearch to find journals and ejournals.

Here is a selection of print and ejournals available through the library. Click the "i" icon to quickly see if the journal is available in print or online

Add up to 5 Journals here, check the assets and if not there already add one

Australian Journal of Music Education The ‘Australian Journal of Music Education’ (AJME) is a fully-refereed journal that aims to provide clear, stimulating and readable accounts of current issues in music education.

Journal of Interactive Marketing Journal of Interactive Marketing aims to identify issues and frame ideas associated with the rapidly expanding field of interactive marketing, which includes both online and offline topics related to the analysis, targeting, and service of individual customers.
Industrial Marketing Management The International Journal of Marketing for Industrial and High-Tech Firms Industrial Marketing Management provides theoretical, empirical and case-based research geared to the needs of marketing scholars and practitioners researching and working in industrial and business-to-business markets
Journal of Political Marketing The Journal of Political Marketing publishes research on the application of marketing methods to politics to marketing tools like study voter segmentation and candidate positioning
Marketing Theory Marketing Theory provides a fully peer-reviewed specialised academic medium and main reference for the development and dissemination of alternative and critical perspectives on marketing theory.

Here are some website you may find useful. Remember to always check the quality and reliability of resources you find on websites.

Add up to 5 websites here, check the Assets and if not there already add. Assign a thumbnail image, giving a height of 100 and width of 180 pixels

Marketing Institute Ireland Marketing Institute Ireland was incorporated on September 14th, 1962, to help build Irish businesses through the development and application of marketing principles. We know that by focusing on the customer or consumer and analysing the competition, Irish businesses can create a sustainable competitive advantage both domestically and in foreign markets.
Marketing.ie Marketing magazine is Ireland’s leading marketing, advertising and media monthly. Marketing.ie is read by Ireland’s top marketing and media executives, online and digital companies, advertising agencies, PR practitioners, researchers, direct marketing and promotion firms, designers, event organisers and film and sound studios.
Student Marketing Network The Student Marketing Network has been in existence for 17 years and is Ireland’s ONLY complete, through-the-line student focused Marketing Agency. We own Ireland’s Largest Youth Database: With access to 100,000 email addresses and 60,000 SMS numbers.
Euromonitor International Euromonitor International is the world's leading provider of global business intelligence, market analysis and consumer insights. We partner with you to provide the right report, database or custom solution to support decisions and grow your business.
AIMRO (Association Of Irish Market Research Organisations) AIMRO strives to make representations on behalf of the industry to relevant authorities, to advance and safeguard the interests of the industry and to procure and maintain high professional standards.

Use these databases to do a more focused search for journal articles that relate to your music topic. Click on the "i" icon to see a description for each database.

You can find a full list of library e-resources on the library's A-Z of Online Resources page.

Sage Business This link opens in a new window SAGE Business Cases is our robust digital collection of business cases tailored to library needs – providing faculty, students and researchers with unlimited access to more than 4,200 authoritative cases from over 100 countries. SAGE curates interdisciplinary cases on in-demand subjects such as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more.
Ebsco-Host This link opens in a new window Ebsco is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database.
Emerald This link opens in a new window Emerald Group Publishing has become the world’s leading scholarly publisher of journals and books in business and management with a strong and growing presence in disciplines including LIS, social sciences, engineering, linguistics and audiology.
Taylor & Francis This link opens in a new window Search and explore the millions of quality, peer-reviewed journal articles published under the Taylor & Francis, Routledge and Dove Medical Press imprints.

Research Help

Need an idea? - Here are some suggested places to start:

Multisearch - limit your results by subject or topic.
Google Scholar - useful for finding existing research.

Not sure how to develop your topic?

Watch this online tutorial from Sage Research Methods : Defining a topic.
Visit the Assignment Planning & Re ading module of the Assignment Toolkit:

Referencing is an essential skill for academic writing. It is important to acknowledge the work of others to avoid plagiarism.

We recommend you complete the following online tutorials from the MTU Libraries Assignment Toolkit.

Here is a link to some very useful Referencing Guides covering all of the most popular referencing styles. In this section, you'll also find information on Referencing Software.

Look for a peer-review limiter on your search results page.

How do I know if a journal is peer-reviewed?

If you are searching a library database such as CINAHL, use the peer-reviewed limiter.
Google the journal home page; this information is almost always located on the publisher's website.
Ask a librarian for help.

Be careful, however! Not all articles within a peer-reviewed journal are peer-reviewed articles.

TIP: Peer-reviewed articles will have an abstract and a list of references.

We recommend you complete the following online tutorials from the MTU Library Assignment Toolkit.