MTU Cork Subject Guides
Search the library's print and online resources to find books, ebooks, articles, recordings and more.
Here is a short guide to help you get started: Multisearch: A Quick Overview
The library catalogue lists physical items and ebooks purchased by the library.
Use Multisearch to search the library catalogue and online collections at the same time.
Google Scholar can be a useful search tool when starting your research, but it should not be the only tool you use. However, while you know you can rely on MTU library resources, it is up to you to make sure content you find on Google Scholar is safe to use for your assignments and research.
Did you know you can link Google Scholar to MTU Kerry library so it always tells you when the full text of an article is available in the library?
Here is our Link MTU Kerry Library to Google Scholar guide.
Use the A-Z of Online Journals to find a specific journal or journals on a specific subject.
Searching the library's online resources is a bit different to searching Google. Here are some tips to get you started:
Things to think about when making your list of keywords
For more search help, check out out the Effective Searching Module of the Assignment Toolkit. and our Top Tips for Smarter Searching guide for more search hints
Use Multisearch to find books and ebooks. Here is a selection of print and electronic books available through the library.
An Introduction to Modern Economics by
This introduction to economic principles covers all the major topics in an introductory micro and macro principles course. The text contains mathematical appendices, learning objectives, summaries for each chapter and definitions of key concepts.
Economics by
Now in its 9th edition, Economics by Sloman et al is known and loved for its active learning, student-friendly approach and unmatched lecturer and student support. Retaining all the hall mark features of previous editions, it continues to provide a balanced, comprehensive and completely up-to-date introduction to the world of economics. Please note that the product you are purchasing does not include MyEconLab. MyEconLab Join over 11 million students benefiting from Pearson MyLabs. This title can be supported by MyEcpnLab, an online homework and tutorial system designed to test and build your understanding. Would you like to use the power of MyEconLab to accelerate your learning? You need both an access card and a course ID to access MyEconLab. These are the steps you need to take: 1. Make sure that your lecturer is already using the system Ask your lecturer before purchasing a MyLab product as you will need a course ID from them before you can gain access to the system. 2. Check whether an access card has been included with the book at a reduced cost If it has, it will be on the inside back cover of the book. 3. If you have a course ID but no access code, you can benefit from MyEconLab at a reduced price by purchasing a pack containing a copy of the book and an access code for MyEconLab (ISBN:9781292064864) 4. If your lecturer is using the MyLab and you would like to purchase the product... Go to www.myeconlab.com to buy access to this interactive study programme. For educator access, contact your Pearson representative. To find out who your Pearson representative is, visit www.pearsoned.co.uk/replocator
Principles of Agricultural Economics by
Principles of Agricultural Economics, now in its fourth edition, continues to showcase the power of economic principles to explain and predict issues and current events in the food, agricultural, and agribusiness sectors. This key text introduces economic principles in a succinct and reader-friendly format, providing students and instructors with a clear, up-to-date, and straightforward approach to learning how a market-based economy functions and how to use simple economic principles for improved decision-making. The field of agricultural economics has expanded to include a wide range of topics and approaches, including macroeconomics, international trade, agribusiness, environmental economics, natural resources, and international development, and these are all introduced in this text. For this edition, new and enhanced material on agricultural policies, globalization, welfare analysis, and explanations of the role of government in agriculture and agribusiness is included. Readers will also benefit from an expanded range of case studies and text boxes, including real-world examples such as the Ukraine conflict, the Coronavirus pandemic, and immigration. The work is supported by a companion website, including flash cards, study guides, PowerPoint presentations, multiple choice questions, essay questions, and an instructor's manual. This book is ideal for courses on agricultural economics, microeconomics, rural development, and environmental policy.
Construction Economics by
Construction Economics provides students with the principles underlying the relationship between economic theory and the construction industry. Its new approach specifically examines the problems of securing sustainable construction and this fifth edition broadens the message to address the immediacy of the problems relating to the carbon-based world that we have constructed. Embracing the whole process of the construction life cycle, the new edition discusses the economic impact of the Covid pandemic on the industry and the broader implications of the promise to build back better. It also includes new coverage of the opportunities offered by technology, the establishment of higher standards to achieve greater energy efficiency and wellbeing, the adoption of the principles of a circular economy, the retrofit of existing buildings and the recycling of materials. New sections also highlight the methodology of the subject to identify the boundaries of construction economics and clarify what to expect and what can be achieved. As with previous editions, it retains a tried and tested format including: a clear and user-friendly style use of colour for emphasis regular summaries of key points a glossary of key terms extensive use of tables, figures and data readings from Construction Management and Economics tutorial questions to review each section research guidance reviews of useful websites. This invaluable textbook is essential reading across a wide range of disciplines. It provides the economic context to the relevance of sustainability and debates about climate change, highlighting the vital contributions that surveyors, contractors, project managers, engineers, architects and developers can offer to take it forward.
Economics by
The ideal introduction to the exciting world of economic theory and data analysis. For students taking a course on the Principles of Economics Economics, 11th edition by Sloman, Garratt, and Guest, is the ultimate guide to the fascinating subject of Economics. The book is essential for the students who want to get a solid understanding of the key concepts in economic theory and practice. With content that is accessible and easy to follow, this latest version will allow you to take your first steps into thinking like an economist. The latest edition provides valuable insight into the constantly changing and often complex issues that economists face today. The updated comprehensive study material comes with extensive revisions, and the content has been improved, discussing the latest events and developments in the field. The book touches upon some of the major issues the world is facing in the 2020s from an analytical and critical point of view, prompting you to adopt the economist way of thinking and reflect on both the economic problems and opportunities it presents. Some issues include the effects of the Covid-19 pandemic and aftermath, globalisation, climate emergency facing our planet, the rise in populism and large-scale migration of people across and within continents. From theory to practical, real-life applications, contemporary issues, and events, this is a leading student text and definitive guide on the principles of Economics. Personalise learning with MyLab® Economics. By combining trusted author content with digital tools and a flexible platform, MyLab Economics personalises the learning experience and improves results for each student. 9781292405421 Sloman, Garratt & Guest, Economics, 11th edition PLUS MyLab® Economics with eText access card Pack consists of: 9781292405339 Economics, 11e (print book) 9781292405377 MyLab® Economics Instant Access Card 9781292405384 MyLab® Economics eText Pearson, the world's learning company. NOTE: Before purchasing, check with your instructor to confirm the correct ISBN. Several versions of the MyLab® platforms exist for each title, and registrations are not transferable. To register for and use MyLab Economics, you may also need a Course ID, which your instructor will provide. Used books, rentals, and purchases made outside of Pearson:If purchasing or renting from companies other than Pearson, the access codes for the MyLab platform may not be included, be incorrect, or previously redeemed. Check with the seller before completing your purchase.
Use Multisearch to find journals and ejournals.
Here is a selection of print and ejournals available through the library. Click the "i" icon to quickly see if the journal is available in print or online
Add up to 5 Journals here, check the assets and if not there already add one
Here are some website you may find useful. Remember to always check the quality and reliability of resources you find on websites.
Add up to 5 websites here, check the Assets and if not there already add. Assign a thumbnail image, giving a height of 100 and width of 180 pixels
Use these databases to do a more focused search for journal articles that relate to your music topic. Click on the "i" icon to see a description for each database.
You can find a full list of library e-resources on the library's A-Z of Online Resources page.
Need an idea? - Here are some suggested places to start:
Not sure how to develop your topic?
Referencing is an essential skill for academic writing. It is important to acknowledge the work of others to avoid plagiarism.
We recommend you complete the following online tutorials from the MTU Libraries Assignment Toolkit.
Here is a link to some very useful Referencing Guides covering all of the most popular referencing styles. In this section, you'll also find information on Referencing Software.
Look for a peer-review limiter on your search results page.
How do I know if a journal is peer-reviewed?
Be careful, however! Not all articles within a peer-reviewed journal are peer-reviewed articles.
TIP: Peer-reviewed articles will have an abstract and a list of references.
We recommend you complete the following online tutorials from the MTU Library Assignment Toolkit.
You can also check out the Academic Learning Centre on the MTU Cork campus or the Academic Success Centre on the MTU Kerry campus.
