Guides Home: Engineering Template: Home

Start here

Here is a short guide to help you get started: Multisearch: A Quick Overview

The library catalogue lists physical items and ebooks purchased by the library.

Use Multisearch to search the library catalogue and online collections at the same time.

Google Scholar can be a useful search tool when starting your research, but it should not be the only tool you use. However, while you know you can rely on MTU library resources, it is up to you to make sure content you find on Google Scholar is safe to use for your assignments and research.

Did you know you can link Google Scholar to MTU Kerry library so it always tells you when the full text of an article is available in the library?

Here is our Link MTU Kerry Library to Google Scholar guide.

Use the A-Z of Online Journals to find a specific journal or journals on a specific subject.

Searching the library's online resources is a bit different to searching Google. Here are some tips to get you started:

List keywords for each of the main concepts or ideas in your research question
What is the impact of global warming on Adelie penguins on the Antartic continent
Enter keywords not sentences into the search box
Join keywords using AND
- global warming AND penguins
Use OR between words with similar meanings and put OR'd words in brackets
- Adelie penguins AND (global warming OR climate change)
Use quotation marks to look for phrases
- Adelie penguings AND "global warming"
Try searching with different combinations of keywords and see what works best.
Use your search results to find new keywords

Things to think about when making your list of keywords

Synonyms (words that mean the same thing)
- drug abuse, drug addction or substance abuse
Acronyms (abbreviations)
- GP or General Practitioner, HSE or Health and Safety Executive
Specialist language
- narcotics vs drugs
Word endings
- addict* will find addict, addicts, addicted, addiction, but child will not find children.
Phrases (looks for words together and in order)
- "controlled substance"
UK vs American Spelling
- colour vs color, analyse vs analyze, centre vs centre

For more search help, check out out the Effective Searching Module of the Assignment Toolkit. and our Top Tips for Smarter Searching guide for more search hints

Information Sources for Engineering

Use Multisearch to find books and ebooks. Here is a selection of print and electronic books available through the library.

Engineering Flow and Heat Exchange by Octave Levenspiel This volume presents an overview of fluid flow and heat exchange. In the broad sense, fluids are materials which are able to flow under the right conditions. These include all sorts of things: pipeline gases, coal slurries, toothpaste, gases in high-vacuum systems, metallic gold, soups and paints, and, of course, air and water. These materials are very different types of fluids, and so it is important to know the different classifications of fluids, how each is to be analyzed (and these methods are quite different), and where a particular fluid fits into this broad picture. This book treats fluids in this broad sense including flows in packed beds and fluidized beds. Naturally, in so small a volume, we do not go deeply into the study of any particular type of flow, however we do show how to make a start with each. We avoid supersonic flow and the complex subject of multiphase flow where each of the phases must be treated separately. The approach here differs from most introductory books on fluids which focus on the Newtonian fluid and treat it thoroughly, to the exclusion of all else. I feel that the student engineer or technologist preparing for the real world should be introduced to these other topics.
Call Number: 620.1064
ISBN: 0306415992
Publication Date: 1984-11-01
A Discipline for Software Engineering by Watts S. Humphrey Designed to help individual programmers develop software more effectively and successfully, this book presents a scaled-down version of Humphrey's popular methods for managing the software process. It: presents concepts and methods for a disciplined software engineering process for individual programmers, following the Capability Maturity Model (CMM); scales down industrial practices for planning, tracking, analysis and defect management to fit the needs of small-scale program development; and provides readers with a solid base for work in industry on much larger projects.
Call Number: 005.1
ISBN: 0201546108
Publication Date: 1994-12-31
An Introduction to Numerical Methods for Chemical Engineers (2nd Ed. ) by James B. Riggs In this second edition of An Introduction to Numerical Methods for Chemical Engineers the author has revised text, added new problems, and updated the accompanying computer programs. The result is a text that puts students on the cutting-edge of solving relevant chemical engineering problems.Designed explicitly for undergraduates, this book provides students with software and experience to solve a number of problems.Included in the text are:Numerical algorithms in explicit detail. Example problems from thermodynamic, fluid flow, heat transfer, mass transfer, kinetics, and process design. Equations developed specifically for the student from the example problems. An introduction to advanced numerical techniques, such as finite elements, singular value decomposition, and arc length homotopy. An introduction to optimization. A systematic approach to process modeling presented with advanced modeling examples. The software that accompanies the book is for IBM-compatible PCs. A solution manual is also available upon request.An Introduction to Numerical Methods for Chemical Engineers was first published in 1988 and has been taught in universities throughout the nation.
Call Number: 660.0151
ISBN: 0896723348
Publication Date: 1994-04-01
Antibody Engineering by John McCafferty (Editor); Hennie R. Hoogenboom (Editor); David J. Chiswell (Editor) Recombinant DNA techniques have revolutionized the isolation and production of antibodies in recent years, and rapid changes have been made. This new Practical Approach book details protocols which allow the researcher to isolate a new antibody, analyse its properties, format the right antibody molecule or fragment, and produce it in usable quantities.
Call Number: 615.37
ISBN: 0199635927
Publication Date: 1996-08-29

Use Multisearch to find journals and ejournals.

Here is a selection of print and ejournals available through the library. Click the "i" icon to quickly see if the journal is available in print or online

Australian Journal of Music Education The ‘Australian Journal of Music Education’ (AJME) is a fully-refereed journal that aims to provide clear, stimulating and readable accounts of current issues in music education.

Here are some website you may find useful. Remember to always check the quality and reliability of resources you find on websites.

Add up to 5 websites here, check the Assets and if not there already add. Assign a thumbnail image, giving a height of 100 and width of 180 pixels

ASME ASME serves a wide-ranging engineering community through quality learning, the development of codes and standards, certifications, research, conferences and publications, government relations, and other forms of outreach.
Engineers Ireland Engineers Ireland is the voice of the engineering profession in Ireland. Our 28,000+ members make up a community of creative professionals delivering sustainable solutions for society.
IChemE Founded in 1922, the Institution of Chemical Engineers (IChemE) is the UK based and internationally recognised qualifying body and learned society for chemical, biochemical and process engineers. We exist to advance chemical engineering’s contribution for the benefit of society.
SME Established in 1932, SME (the Society of Manufacturing Engineers) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to the advancement of manufacturing. SME leads the industrial ecosystem by elevating manufacturers, academia and the communities in which they operate.
ER - Online Welcome to the home of Engineering Resources Online. A practical guide to Engineering Products, Companies and Resources presented via the 'Net.

Use these databases to do a more focused search for journal articles that relate to your music topic. Click on the "i" icon to see a description for each database.

You can find a full list of library e-resources on the library's A-Z of Online Resources page.

ASABE This link opens in a new window The American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers is a professional and technical organization dedicated to the advancement of engineering applicable to agricultural, food, and biological systems. Membership in the Society is open to engineers and non-engineers alike.
The American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers is a professional and technical organization dedicated to the advancement of engineering applicable to agricultural, food, and biological systems. Membership in the Society is open to engineers and non-engineers alike.
Ebsco-Host This link opens in a new window Ebsco is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database.
Taylor & Francis This link opens in a new window Search and explore the millions of quality, peer-reviewed journal articles published under the Taylor & Francis, Routledge and Dove Medical Press imprints.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window From foundational science to new and novel research, discover our large collection of Physical Sciences and Engineering publications, covering a range of disciplines, from the theoretical to the applied.

Research Help

Need an idea? - Here are some suggested places to start:

Multisearch - limit your results by subject or topic.
Google Scholar - useful for finding existing research.

Not sure how to develop your topic?

Watch this online tutorial from Sage Research Methods : Defining a topic.
Visit the Assignment Planning & Re ading module of the Assignment Toolkit:

Referencing is an essential skill for academic writing. It is important to acknowledge the work of others to avoid plagiarism.

We recommend you complete the following online tutorials from the MTU Libraries Assignment Toolkit.

Here is a link to some very useful Referencing Guides covering all of the most popular referencing styles. In this section, you'll also find information on Referencing Software.

Look for a peer-review limiter on your search results page.

How do I know if a journal is peer-reviewed?

If you are searching a library database such as CINAHL, use the peer-reviewed limiter.
Google the journal home page; this information is almost always located on the publisher's website.
Ask a librarian for help.

Be careful, however! Not all articles within a peer-reviewed journal are peer-reviewed articles.

TIP: Peer-reviewed articles will have an abstract and a list of references.

We recommend you complete the following online tutorials from the MTU Library Assignment Toolkit.