MTU Cork Subject Guides
The library catalogue lists physical items and ebooks purchased by the library.
Use Multisearch to search the library catalogue and online collections at the same time.
Search the library's print and online resources to find books, ebooks, articles, recordings and more.
Here is a short guide to help you get started: Multisearch: A Quick Overview
Searching the library's online resources is a bit different to searching Google. Here are some tips to get you started:
Things to think about when making your list of keywords
For more search help, check out out the Effective Searching Module of the Assignment Toolkit. and our Top Tips for Smarter Searching guide for more search hints
Use the A-Z of Online Journals to find a specific journal or journals on a specific subject.
Google Scholar can be a useful search tool when starting your research, but it should not be the only tool you use. However, while you know you can rely on MTU library resources, it is up to you to make sure content you find on Google Scholar is safe to use for your assignments and research.
Did you know you can link Google Scholar to MTU Kerry library so it always tells you when the full text of an article is available in the library?
Here is our Link MTU Kerry Library to Google Scholar guide.
Use Multisearch to find books and ebooks. Here is a selection of print and electronic books available through the library. The key art therapy Dewey numbers are from 615s to 618s (art therapy), 150s (psychology) and 709.0409s (outsider art).
Handbook of Art Therapy by
What is art therapy? How can art and therapy combine to help individuals understand aspects of their inner life? This new edition of The Handbook of Art Therapyis thoroughly revised and updated and includes new sections on neurobiological research, and a current review of literature and contemporary practice. It provides a comprehensive introduction to the field of art therapy in a variety of different settings. Caroline Case and Tessa Dalley draw on their experience of teaching and practising art therapy, concentrating on what art psychotherapists actually do, where they practice, and how and why art therapy is effective. First-hand accounts of the experience of art therapy from both therapists and clients are used throughout, enriching the discussion of subjects including: the art therapy room art and psychoanalysis art therapy and creativity working with groups in art therapy art therapy with individual patients This straight-forward and highly practical Handbook will be invaluable not only as an introduction to the profession but also as a reference for students of art psychotherapy both during and after their training.
The Revealing Image by
Schaverien painstakingly describes and defines "processes which have so far only been intuitively known to art therapists" (p6) by introducing and elaborating the psychoanalytical concepts of transference and countertransference in relation to the use of visual art objects. The authors stated intention in this book is "to attempt to bridge the perceived gap between the practice of art therapy and analytical forms of psychotherapy..."(p 229) The epistemological base of this venture includes the fields of philosophy, anthropology, and aesthetics, as well as psychoanalysis. Schaverien suggests that analytical art psychotherapy is a way of working analytically with patients who are unsuitable, or unready, for psychotherapy, giving examples of psychotic and borderline patients, children, and patients in psychiatric settings. This is primarily a book about an analytical approach within art therapy, which may be of interest in itself. The material also raises issues of interest to analysts and psychotherapists, whether or not they work with art in the clinical setting. The book clarifies areas of similarity between the disciplines, and also makes areas of difference apparent. For example, most analysts would agree that visual art, like dream material, and other non-verbal representations of the inner world, can at times articulate and communicate meanings which for one reason or another cannot be verbally articulated at the time, and that this can be pertinent to the aim of analysis. However, I think few analysts would include facilities in their consulting rooms for the kind of art processes described in the book. When the analyst is working with materials in this form, the book will be extremely helpful in sorting out the complexity of the transference situation and the role of interpretation. The book is so strongly grounded in experiences emerging in the presence of actual art processes and objects that I think it will be of most interest to those who are interested in the specific clinical issues involved in relating to the making and use of actual art objects within the setting. Schaverien not only describes the processes involved in detail, but also presents technical approaches to the making and handling of art objects within the setting which will inform the capacity of those who are not trained as art therapists to relate to this kind of material in the consulting room.'
Art Therapy for Groups by
Art Therapy for Groups provides detailed guidance on how to set up and run theme-based art therapy groups and discusses factors affecting different client groups. The second half of the book consists of nearly 400 themes and practical exercises to use with groups, set out in sections ranging from personal work to group interactive exercises. This updated second edition includes: * new material on race, culture and diversity * a chapter on recording, evaluation and evidence-based practice * a survey of literature on art therapy groups * seventy new themes * an updated international resources section. Illustrated with line drawings and black-and-white photographs this book is an essential resource for people working with art therapy and personal art groups.
On Art and Therapy by
The term art therapy was coined when it was recognized that painting, drawing and modelling had healing effects on people. The early practitioners saw themselves as facilitators in setting free a spontaneous inaginative activity. In this text the author makes a plea for the therapist to return to a trust in the therapeutic value of the creative process itself. Drawing on her memories of working with some of the pioneers of art therapy, and on her own experience as a painter and as an art therapy practitionar, her argument surfaces through observation, speculation, case history and quotations from artists, poets and analysts.
Art Therapy in Practice by
This book describes what happens in art therapy in a variety of contexts, as practised by particular art therapists. The contributors to this volume all work and live in the same geographical region and have evolved their aims as a group. They cover a wide variety of client groups - acute and long-term psychiatric patients, psycho-geriatric patients, mentally handicapped people with psychiatric problems, children with psychological problems, offenders in the community and homeless people. Their employers include the NHS, an education authority, a probation service and voluntary organizations.
There are approximately 2,500 art therapy books available in full on Ebook Central from publishers such as Jessica Kingsley, Sage, Taylor & Francis, Wiley, and many others.
The Wiley Handbook of Art Therapy by
The Wiley Handbook of Art Therapy is a collection of original, internationally diverse essays, that provides unsurpassed breadth and depth of coverage of the subject.
Outsider Art and Art Therapy by
Outsider art, traditionally the work of psychiatric patients, offenders and minority groups, and art therapy have shared histories of art created in psychiatric care. As the two fields grow, this book reveals the current issues faced by both disciplines and traces their shared histories to help them build clearer and more coherent identities.
Art Therapy by
This bestselling introduction to art therapy brings theory to life through case material and examples of real artwork produced during therapy sessions.
The Handbook of Art Therapy and Digital Technology by
Interest in the use of digital technology in art therapy has grown significantly in recent years. This book provides an authoritative overview of the applications of digital art therapy with different client groups and considers the implications for practice.
Introduction to Art Therapy Research by
Since the initial publication of Introduction to Art Therapy Research, interest in this field has grown dramatically along with public policy demands for an up-to-date, culturally relevant evidence base on which to practice. This revised and expanded edition pays particular attention to the field's unique and compelling questions, most current literature, and emerging trends in research, while guiding readers through the basics of qualitative, quantitative, and art-based research design.
Use Multisearch to find journals and ejournals.
Here is a selection of print and ejournals available through the library.
Art Therapy: Journal of the American Art Therapy Association
International Journal of Art TherapyUse these databases to do a more focused search for journal articles that relate to your textiles topic.
You can find a full listing of e-Journals databases on the library website.
Need an idea? - Here are some suggested places to start:
Not sure how to develop your topic?
Referencing is an essential skill for academic writing. It is important to acknowledge the work of others to avoid plagiarism.
We recommend you complete the following online tutorials from the MTU Libraries Assignment Toolkit.
Here is a link to some very useful Referencing Guides covering all of the most popular referencing styles. In this section, you'll also find information on Referencing Software.
Look for a peer-review limiter on your search results page.
How do I know if a journal is peer-reviewed?
Be careful, however! Not all articles within a peer-reviewed journal are peer-reviewed articles.
TIP: Peer-reviewed articles will have an abstract and a list of references.
We recommend you complete the following online tutorials from the MTU Library Assignment Toolkit.
You can also check out the Academic Learning Centre on the MTU Cork campus or the Academic Success Centre on the MTU Kerry campus.
