Skip to main content

Home: Referencing, Modules, Databases

Get To Know Your Resources ...

Thumbnail          Get To Know Your Information Resources...Thumbnail

   Get to know the resources that have been made available to help you !

                                                      Lots of information is listed below on Referencing, ModulesDatabases ...

FAQ's on Referencing

Study Guides

     Study Guides

  Guide to Note Taking

  Internet Searching

  Plagiarism

Library Book Location

Your Library Books

   Accountancy

   Chemistry

   Economics

   Engineering

   Maths & Stats

   Mechanics

   Physics

   Programming

Which Database To Use

Which Database?
Thumbnail
Thumbnail
Thumbnail

Kow Your Referencing

Referencing is an acknowledgement of the sources that you have read and that you have used to support your own theories and arguments throughout your assignment. All works that you have used during your research must be referenced in your assignment including quotations, theories, websites, statistics, diagrams...

  • Shows your supervisor/lecturer the scope of reading and research that you have carried out

  • Allows your supervisor/lecturer to access material that you have read or cited

  • Referencing gives credit to the original author (recognising his/her intellectual property) and also credibility to the claim or hypothesis that you are proposing

  • Correct use of referencing will also allow you to strengthen key arguments throughout your research with direct quotations etc...

  • Above all correct referencing will allow you to demonstrate your own academic integrity and honesty. By accurately acknowledging the works of others through referencing, you cannot be accused of plagiarism

  • There are many different referencing styles including Harvard, APA, MLA, IEEE

  • There are a number of referencing styles used throughout CIT and many departments insist on a particular style. Before embarking on your research, you should talk to a representative from your department and find out which referencing style is required by that department

  • No matter which style of referencing is used, you must be consistent and abide by the rules governing that particular style

  • A common trait among all styles is that every citation within the text must be referenced in full at the end of the document in a ‘list of references’ or ‘bibliography’

  • A bibliography is a full list of the material you have read for your study even if you did not cite it specifically in your report

  • Many students also include a reference section at the end of their document. This is a complete list of specifically cited works throughout the document and is listed in alphabetical order. A reference section should not be confused with a bibliography which also includes works read but not specifically cited in the document

Know Your Modules

  • A module is a self-contained course that usually lasts for one term.

  • It covers just one subject and is assessed independently of other modules.

  • In order to gain a qualification you must collect passes in predetermined number of modules.

  • Your final grade is calculated from the average marks achieved across Modules undertaken.

  • As an example let's access a module within the subject area of Chemistry

  • We will firstly go to CIT's Module Page. Within Module Search, either enter a module code OR simply choose our subject area, Chemistry

  • We will use the second module on the list Biological Chemistry 1, Chem6011, as an example

Each subject guide contains its own Modules Tab which is a direct link to the Fundamental Level'

modules that this subject provides. These links are also provided below;

Accountancy                Chemistry                Economics               Engineering  

Maths & Stats               Mechanics               Physics                    Programming

Get To Know Your Databases